rss
twitter
  •  

Why are designer’s password protecting files they label “FREE Resources for graphic designers”

| Posted in Hot design topics |

0

 SpoofCard Caller ID Spoofing

Why are designer’s pass­word pro­tect­ing files they label FREE Resources for graphic design­ers?

 

You think you have found a really great Graphic design resource right? Wrong again! Cer­tain sites have design­ers fooled, dis­play­ing hot look­ing graph­ics, only later to find out that the file is either pass­word pro­tected, or worse it doesn’t exist at all…

This is very frus­trat­ing for Graphic artist, web design­ers, or blog­gers look­ing to get some great resources for their designs. I want to per­son­ally send a mes­sage to those who link up their down­loads, we are not going to click on your links any­more than we would if you hadn’t hid your down­load link. So don’t post free resources for graphic designer if you don’t plan on fol­low­ing through with it. So what can design­ers do about these phony sites that are not fol­low­ing through with what they are pro­mot­ing? Well for starters you could blog about them in a neg­a­tive way as I’m doing so.

But if you want direct action report these sites to the major search engines. Another thing that irri­tates the hell out of me are sites that hide mali­cious con­tent or ads in their down­load links, and again you don’t get Free graphic design resources you get a solic­i­ta­tion or a pop up add, these sites are so scripted it some­times causes you’re com­puter to crash. If you hate sites like these as I do them you should down­load Fire­fox and install the plug-in No SCRIPTS. This will kill all ads and scripts so you will no longer be forced to look at trash ads. If you want to check what you are down­load­ing before you actu­ally down­load it – high­light the text (right click) then save as target.

A win­dow should pop up you can see the file ext, if it’s a web page exten­sion than it’s not the actu­ally file it’s a redi­rect. This is an evil way of deep link­ing, you click the down­load but­ton – it takes you to another page that says down­load– if you click it again you are led to yet another page, same thing– the sad part is; you help the site owner link deep –but you don’t get any down­loads, free down­loads is just the bait to reel you in. These site own­ers have no pride in their con­tent and should be exposed for what they are “a fraud”. I am start­ing a list of these sites so that as a design com­mu­nity we can black list them once and for all. Every site owner has an oblig­a­tion to its users, Cheat­ing users by lying and post­ing fraud­u­lent arti­cles, and down­loads is wrong. We always offer 100% free con­tent and all of our down­loads are 100% acces­si­ble. So if you need a good resource web­site for graphic design, or web design mate­ri­als please join our community.

Please leave a com­ment on your expe­ri­ences if you can list some sites that have either redi­rected you – or if you have down­loaded a pass­word pro­tected file, or if there was no down­load at all; just end­less links. We will review all the sites that you report and dis­play them on a “wall of shame”- so in the future you can avoid being dis­ap­pointed all together. There is noth­ing more dis­ap­point­ing than find­ing per­fect design resources only later to find out it was a spoof.

 

VN:R_U [1.8.1_1037]
Rat­ing: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VN:R_U [1.8.1_1037]
Rat­ing: +1 (from 1 vote)

Post a comment

Get Adobe Flash playerPlugin by wpburn.com wordpress themes
.